i miss blogging like it was 2007

This blog will turn 4 this month.

Ang tagal na … but right now, I feel very sad.

Kasi, while chatting with Jinoe earlier, I can’t help but feel like my blogging (and running) has gone down hill since 2010. Weight has gone up though. Hahaha. For ye math lovers out there, I can confirm that there is a direct correlation between weight gain and decrease in mileage. :o)

Hay, I have one million one excuses. From half of 2010 to date, I would periodically say na I will train blah, blah and blah. I’m all blah and zero mileage. Truth is, what do I write about if I’m not really running naman.

I.AM.LAZY.

Pero, you know what, I am missing something also. I miss the runner blogger friends I made when I was just starting. Even they have stopped blogging like it was 2007. Back then we use to blog about our every run. We wait for each others blog about our long runs. We eagerly read about the races we joined. We have one million and one opinion about injuries, training programs, race strategies, shoes, training routes and gadgets. It was never about hits and views. We were writing about our runs and races. I was writing even if I knew that only 3-5 friends (plus my kuya) was reading this blog. I was writing to process my runs and plot the next one. We never used “Race results and discussion” as a blog title. And if we say results, we have the actual results. Hindi coming soon.

In 2008, I had a post about FrankenRace: My Ideal Race. I am enjoying everything I wished for back then pero may kulang.

I miss the running community that got me running and kept me running.

prometheuscometh – How’s the Boston dream? Will I get to read about your tri adventures soon?

runningdatcom – When’s your next race? Are you up for Condura 2012?

theloonyrunner – Congratulations! Did you run during your honeymoon?

bugobugo85 – Puro secret ultra training na lang ba kaya wala na post?

runtintin – Did you find na a running route in KZlandia?

manokanexpress – I really miss the blog roll.

runMD – When are we going to run again?

rununlimited – What are you and Xty up to?

Kudos to Baldrunner and Sir Rainier – with age comes endurance talaga. :o)

RunningPinoy – In fairness, consistent, kahit di ka age group ni BR and Sir Rainier

I miss lonerunner…at madami pang ibang blog. Asan na si wmtan?

and ikaw, oo, ikaw myironshoes, i hope to read about every kilometer from Staten Island to Central Park.

Dear Chummies … Let’s write about our races also, not just the races that we will attend.

And bilang ganti, tomorrow I will tell you all about my wonderful 3K run.

As this blog turns 4, I will try and turn back the clock and blog like it was 2007 all over again. Maybe I can still run like it was 2007 again.

39 thoughts on “i miss blogging like it was 2007

  1. I wasn’t around in 2007 (oh I was blogging, just not about running) but I’ve seen my fair share of running bloggers drop off the blog roll. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ You know what? I’ve never done a 3K run. Tara lets!

  2. I fully agree. The pinoy running blogs listed on my site had unfortunately been downgraded to “ad placement” sites. These race orgs are using these bloggers to attend race launches in extend for “favors” to promote their races online. That is why the real run-blogging is now minimal. Parang magazine na puro commercial lang ang laman. Hayyyy…

    I WANT to be inspired so I hope to read more personal running experiences from these blogs, not just race commercials.

    Congrats on your blog’s 4th anniv! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Hi Bards, kamusta na? I may not be blogging and racing but I still run, by myself, not as much as I used to. I still keep the old blogs on google reader, so I am alerted when there are new posts like these but these are getting more and more rare. Iba talaga yung atmosphere dati no?

    But incidentally, I just registered for a 10K race next weekend here in the south, my first race in more than a year!

    1. great jinoe! thanks!

      Bards, miss ko na nga rin reading blog posts that encourage others to run and not only to register in a race…. i’ll try to do my share to in bringing back blogging about running the way it used to be.

      1. Hi broJ! I woukd absolutely love to read about the broJ&swthrt adventures. Lalo na your Tulo to Balagtas to Pier runs.

        Funny that I can run anywhere here in the Metro but hesitate to do more runs in my home town.

  4. Tumpak! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    “It was never about hits and views. We were writing about our runs and races. I was writing even if I knew that only 3-5 friends (plus my kuya) was reading this blog. I was writing to process my runs and plot the next one. We never used โ€œRace results and discussionโ€ as a blog title. And if we say results, we have the actual results. Hindi coming soon.”

    Panalo ka Barge! ๐Ÿ˜›

      1. My defense to Bards when she gave me that stern looks was… if you can’t beat them, join them. Kaya gumawa ako ng Daddy and the City blog where I can be myself once in a while.

      2. Maglolobby ako! pati si Gab i-recruit ko. ๐Ÿ˜€ But I suppose years of blogging together made me feel that I can give you that stern look and tell it to you straight. mas mabuti na yun.

        pero dahil may kanya kanya naman tayo blogs … whatever makes us happy na lang … world peace. and if ayaw mo content. wag click, easy.

        pero may pinanggagaling ito eh … kay Pinoy Fitness … nabigtima na ako nun. Excited pa naman ako sa results. Never again. I’d rather scroll to the bottom of the page or go to the next page of google rather than give that thing one hit.

    1. oist bobby … yung โ€œRace results and discussionโ€ kaya kong palampasin. di ko na lang click.

      pero yung Barge … ibang usapan na yan! nyahahaha *megaPOUT*

  5. wow! very nice, that blogroll is back. Very famiiar, the bloggers that banana running mentioned. I read most of them, keeps me running.

  6. wow four years! that’s like highschool! congrats bards on your blog anniversary! and I do hope we get some mojo back into running, like it was a few years back ๐Ÿ˜€

  7. Miss you Bards and the rest of the gang… I always tell myself when I wake up in the morning “I will run today, will run today” like a mantra but yeah, never happens. Reading this just might get me off my ass…. but it’s just damn cold now! (excuses a plenty aaaack!) My usual running stuff won’t do at all… help! Any tips for running in the cold?

    1. tip about running in the cold…just one … time to hit KZlandia shops. change in weather conditions … perfect excuse to go shopping KZ style ๐Ÿ™‚

      find a nice beanie

  8. Miss you Bards and the rest of the gang… I always tell myself when I wake up in the morning “I will run today, will run today” like a mantra but yeah, never happens. Reading this just might get me off my ass…. but it’s just damn cold now! (excuses a plenty aaaack!) Any tips for running in the cold or rolling in the deep (end? hahaha)

  9. Ngayon ko lang naisip, bakit ako nasama sa list eh 2008 ako nagsimula tumakbo at mag-blog? hahaha ๐Ÿ˜€ (Pero yung mga nabanggit mo eh mga naging inspirasyon ko sa pagsisimula ng blog)

    1. The others were not all 2007 din naman. I listed some of the blogs I read and got inspiration from … and copy training and routes. Although, i must admit, I havent been brave enough to try EDSA. ๐Ÿ˜€

  10. hey bards! no running prior to the wedding and during the honeymoon… ipinagbawal ni misis! hahaha but, i’m starting over… yun nga lang parang beginner nanaman hehehe see you on the road! ๐Ÿ˜€

  11. Yes, I second the motion (este motions).

    1. Weight gain is definitely correlated to a decrease in mileage. They are inversely proportional. The less you run, the more weight you gain hehe…

    2. Yes, I also terribly miss the first batch of runner-bloggers. Sinabi mo na kung sino sila kaya di ko na iisa-isahin.

    Hope to see you Nov. 6 and Nov. 13 Bards!

  12. hi banana running,

    yup, i also miss yung mga bloggers noon. i do remember ilan lang kayo na nag ba-basa ng blog ko.

    your friend na si myironshoes ang na miss ko din. i like how she writes. i think i saw her once sa alabang.. i wanted to say “i am fan” hehehe

    keep on blogging. i still read your posts.

    thanks a lot!

    lonerunner

Leave a Reply

