Extra! Extra!

Last Friday, I was one of the lucky few who got invited to the launch of the Nike Free 2 Run+. The morning started with Nike peeps telling us all about the shoes and the development of barefoot running. That’s how the official event started.
My morning started with a phone call from Marc asking if I was coming to the launch.
Rewind.
Mine started with my phone going off at 630am. It just wouldn’t stop!!! Finally got up to answer the phone. It was Marc, asking if I was coming to the launch.

I said, “Yes.”

Then everything was a blur. Faster than Chipmunks audio on roids … they were already there … launch was at 6:30am. AM! Not PM!

Gargh!

My bad! I didn’t read the invitation and the text messages properly. Took note of the date and the venue. Saw the time and assumed it was in the evening.

Back to the launch … After the presentations, Coach Rio dela Cruz guided us through some warm-up exercises/drills to prepare us for our short run in our new shoes. There were a few new drills and they will be definitely included in my routine.

We ran 2 small BHS loops. I won’t review the shoes yet. I am loving the look and feel. Initial ride was impressive. Pero later na the review. For now they are still in the box. I don’t want them to get dirty yet.

Thanks to Marc and the Nike and Ogilvy team for the invite.

Fastforward to today, I was reading the Manila Bulletin and I saw a feature about Coach Rio. I recalled seeing him being interviewed after our short run. Nag-usyoso. He used to work pala sa MWSS. I can’t imagine him behind a desk. And then when I flipped to the next page…ta-da!

Extra! Extra! Errr read all about Coach Rio dela Cruz. Ako extra lang.

Running:

Stayed indoors today and chased hamsters for 30 mins. I also practised my breathing techniques. I’ve noticed that when I do my speed repeats, I end up gasping for air in the end. Sometimes I just can’t catch my breath. For today, when I did the faster intervals, I tried to breath a little slower. It helped to relax my upper body and made each stride easier. Also, whenever I inhaled I tried to picture my lungs expanding. Slow and easy tomorrow. I hope it doesn’t rain so I can take the Nike Frees for a spin.

2 thoughts on “Extra! Extra!

Leave a Reply

