The Panday Run vs Super Show 3

I’ll tell you a secret.

I’m a big fan of the Panday series. The ones starring FPJ ha. Whenever, I see it playing at Cinema One, I’d still watch them. I like watching Panday’s showdown with Lizardo. It would always be in a majestic desert.  Panday would be all alone and then suddenly all of Lizardo’s evil kampon will rise from sands and the big battle will start. He will defeat them all. But the fight is not yet over. He and Lizardo will have their big showdown. As he fights Lizardo, his sword will start to make its “wing-wing-wing-wing” sound. Fantastic!

A few years back, my friends and I went to Ilocos. I kept bugging people where the Panday movie was shot.  I so wanted to see it. After asking a few locals, they directed us to La Paz. I think the locals found us … well, maybe just me, odd. I’d stick my head out of the window and ask for directions. I’d say, “Manong, saan pa nagshooting dito yung Panday?” Odd or not, our method worked. We found the sand dunes of La Paz. It was magnificent. Just like in the movies. And yes, I did reenact some battles scenes from Panday. Too bad, I lost the video clip. And yes, it was with matching make believe sword with the “wing-wing-wing-wing” sounds effects.

So what’s with the Panday revelation?

Well it’s because of this …

Yup! It’s a race that’s going to be held at the famed sand dunes where the Panday movies were shot. So exciting! This race will feature new vistas, a completely different terrain and tough race conditions. A true challenge! The race will feature a 10-mile trail run (which will include the sand dunes), a 10k Road Run, 5k Road Run, 3k Family Run and a 750 meter Kids Dash.

To read more about the race, visit Jazzrunner’s blog. For other details and to download registration forms, please visit www.laoagcity.gov.ph or call/text 0917-5530050 (Faivo Bartolome).

I was all set to go. Kahit solo, I would have traveled to Laoag. And then I checked my schedule. Ack! I can’t run this race.

I was already booked for Feb 26. It’s a test of friendship gimik. I promised my friend, Jenny, that I would watch a concert with her. She got our tickets last November pa. Our glow sticks arrived before Christmas.

I checked Cebupac, their flight sched would have been perfect. I could arrive Friday evening, race on Saturday morning and watch the concert. Pero, it’s too expensive. I hope the city of Laoag will make this a yearly event. I’m so looking forward to Taray Pamulinawen 2012.

For now, Panday Run = 0. Super Junior = 1

5 thoughts on “The Panday Run vs Super Show 3

  1. Haha..love the “wing, wing, wing” sound (with imaginary smoke lines) but this time it would be “slosh, slosh, slosh” as the shoe would try to push its way into the soft sand. Too bad you’re not coming but in case you change your mind…:-)

    1. Naman Bards! Tara, let’s join us haha. Or join us at the annual duck count on Paoay Lake this Saturday. Hopefully we will also be able to see the owls, frogmouths, nightjars and other strange birds that inhabit the sand dunes.

    1. It’s an annual Wild Bird Club of the Philippines activity. But you have to fly there on your own, like an, er, migrant duck 🙂

      >>fly fly nek time. Have fun. Hope you see an owl!

Leave a Reply

