Parkour

Finished 30 out the 36 target yesterday. Mileage was down to 22km last week so I decided not to push it when my legs started complaining. Better to run short rather than get sidelined again. Thanks CoachSalazar for pushing and pushing. Kahit I wanted to push you na. 🙂

All the talks about tri over breakfast got me thinking about where I want to take this running thing. The obvious options are run longer and run faster. There’s also tri but I will leave that to the others.

As for me, if/when I wake up feeling a bit bored with running and life in general this is what I would like to try… 

This is Parkour .

Parkour (sometimes also abbreviated to PK) or l’art du déplacement [1] (Englishthe art of moving) is a physical discipline of French origin in which participants run along a route, attempting to negotiate obstacles in the most efficient way possible, as if moving in an emergency situation, using skills such as jumping and climbing, or the more specific parkour moves. The obstacles can be anything in one’s environment, but parkour is often seen practiced in urban areas because of many suitable public structures that are accessible to most people, such as buildings and rails.

Parkour practitioners are often called traceurs, or traceuses for females.

(Source: Wikipedia)

There is parkour in the Phils. Click here visit their official website.

This is a fun parkour video also. 

Time to rehydrate some more. 😀

8 thoughts on “Parkour

  1. my friends ira, anthony, and derek brought the parkour movement to the philippines. 🙂 lemme know if you wanna give it a try!

  2. i gotta comment, Bards! I saw Ida Tiongson’s video post on FB last night and I commented that there’s a french word for this art but I just couldn’t remember — then the word came to mind before I went to sleep – it’s Parkour! And it’s a coincidence that this is on your post! 🙂

  3. BR – adrenaline rush di ba sir.

    Marga – sobrang fun. but i think I need a few more tricks and lotsa weight training for it.

    Ja – haha alam mo they should include this sa GX class options. 😀

    DATC – perfect for the hyperactive in me. hehe

  4. iha,
    mag hunos dili ka. running palang na iinjured na e yan parkour na yan. marami akong customers sa hilot nyan. hehehe.
    btw, your idea of running fastrer and stronger are the best choice for you. i will support you for that. promise. 118 ha?

    may 39 na, may 118 pa? sure coach! fight! 🙂

  5. You must understand that the guys that train in this discipline, do tend to have a lot of strength training and conditioning. Even if it looks pretty dangerous and hardcore, most of the time, traceurs train safely on the ground.

    Nice videos though, i really liked the second one..

Leave a Reply

