Takbo Bayani: Sneak Peek

If you are doing the Marikina Half on Sunday … here’s a quick sneak preview.

The course is relatively flat. The only uphill is the part from Marikina to Katipunan. This is a bit challenging because this is going to be in the first 3kms or so. After reaching Katipunan, everything should be relatively
easy. There is also a very long downhill stretch between Batasan and JP Rizal. Great timing because this will give us a chance to rest our legs a bit before we sprint or crawl to the last kms before the finish line.

We will have very little shade so expect to burn baby burn. Please feel free to do a virtual 1-minute rain dance with me on Saturday at 8:08pm.

When we cross bridge the along Batasan, glance to your right and enjoy a great view of the mountains … I think its Antipolo.

Be prepared for the jeepneys especially along Commonwealth. Since this is a Bayani event, I’m hoping that MMDA will provide assistance to the race marshals. And no need to freak out when running with the jeepneys kasi … Basta jeepney driver, Sweet Lover di ba.

I might not have planned to join this race but I do plan to enjoy this new and challenging route.

Hope to see you there!


9 thoughts on “Takbo Bayani: Sneak Peek

  1. — When we cross bridge the along Batasan, glance to your right and enjoy a great view of the mountains … I think its Antipolo.

    Bards, do you mean YOUR right or the real right??

  2. So what was the distance of the route 🙂

    When I used to bike, the incline from marikina going up to katipunan always felt tougher than it looked. I hope it doesn’t present too much problems in the race.

    Dingdong, do you want me to post your extra MH bib in the Happy Feet egroups?

  3. Dingdong – goodbye 350 … goodbye peaceful BHS route. 🙂 I’m sure the challenge of urban road racing (translates to dodging jeepney, tricycle, pedicabs etc) will more than make up for it.

    DATC – google earth wins! maybe if we add up all the zigzag we need to do to avoid jeepneys … it will come to 2.4km

  4. good luck guys! need support? i can drive or better yet …bike if you have a bike i can ride without fear of falling off!

  5. PC – Thanks! Oh support team … dream come true with pompoms ba? hehe. Let me check with DATC.

    Charles – thanks, enjoy MH. i think they will have nice loot bag too.

  6. Bards, pa hijack ng post ha…..
    PC, I think you’re really itching to bike so I’ll tell you what – I have a mountain bike that doesn’t fit me too well so I want to sell it. You can test ride it during the run and if you like it, you can buy it from me! Aesthetically, it’s much better looking than my other bike and it uses ordinary pedals 🙂

Leave a comment