Fuego-Mizuno Fun Run: Blazing New Trails

Our Saturday trip to Fuego started at around 11am. After  a series of outlet shopping and late lunch at Kanin Club we continued on our way to Nasugbu.

Our next pitstop was at Danny Perez’s house in Nasugbu. Danny is known in the area as “Lagutok” or bonesetter. I regularly go to him to get my bones set and realigned. Cha and Mesh gamely got their bones set also.

We arrived at Fuego at around 5:30 pm. After enjoying the sunset view of our Casita, we headed to the pool for a quick dip before dinner.

 

 

Race Day. We got up a little after 4am. After all our pre race prep, we went to the starting line. We saw a good number of runners standing, walking around and warming up.

 

I finally met Eric and he gave us good news. He said that we will be sticking to the main course and won’t be doing the crazy hills. *relief*

Mesh started looking at the bib numbers and noticed that only handful was wearing 200series bibs. When the announcer finally called all 10K runners to the mat, we realized that only 11 runners registered for the race. If they had a separate category for female runners, Mesh and I were assured of a podium finish since we were the only crazy girls who registered for 10K. *sayang!*

 

Let me now give a shoutout to all our fellow 10K runners (opps sorry we did not get everybody’s pics).

 

It was a tough course and we all finished. Yehey! The top 3 finishers did it in the low 50s too! Congratulations! They removed the steep hills but the rolling terrain was no joke. Picture this, if the original course was like a roller coaster ride, the course we ran was just a caterpillar ride.

 

Congratulations to Mesh, you finally conquered downhill running. Apparently, bullying err encouraging you by shouting and clapping works for you. Expect more in the coming races. Eric, pati ikaw nadamay sa karinyo brutal ko … hehe you guys were doing so well and I just wanted to give a little encouragement. 😛

 

I completed the 10K in 1:11. My worst 10K time ever but I was still smiling because it was the best race I’ve ever joined. I haven’t processed my run yet, maybe later. 

 

Second placer, Ivan was rushed to the hospital. I was on my way back to the finish line when I saw the ambulance. I asked the security guard what happened and he confirmed that a runner collapsed. At the awarding, they announced that he was doing okay.

Garmin405 up close and personal. When we were at the starting line, I glanced at a runner’s watch and *gasp*. Could it be? It is! I had to ask, “Is that the 405?” Albert said, Yes. When asked, he said just got it from Hong Kong for USD350. So we drooled and drooled over it. He showed us the downloaded report after the awarding. It was amazing. *drool* Thanks for the show and tell Albert.

Posing with the Garmin405 err with Albert Villa-Real

 

 

 
 

 

 

With Eric and Ben (Congrats!)  

Mesh, Xander, Cha and Bards … happyhappyjoyjoy

 

My worst 10K and I was still smiling … whatta!?! Because this was the best race I’ve ever attended. Granted the reg fee was expensive and you need to be a member or sponsored by a member but still … you get free brunch, a finisher’s medal, a tshirt, card holder and loot bag. Plus great raffle prizes… that we didn’t win. And after the race can go swimming. How cool is that!

 

Plusplus, the Fuego staff were really great. The best yung staff at the water stations. Picture this, you are tired running and dying to get to the water station … tapos you see someone running towards you already with a cup of water! They were also cheering for the runners. Hahaha! Can you beat that! And then at my last lap, I had a security guard pa on a motorbike accompanying me *aliw* Thank you Fuego!

 

Another plusplus, there were 2 photographers taking pictures of us. I swear, they make you want to hit the correct form. (You guys know where we can we get copies of their pics, please!)

 

Just a couple of things they could improve on would be the Km markers, they were a bit confusing and the route map said we needed to make 2 loops (what they failed to tell us was 2 loops for the 1st loop and 1 loop lang nung second, pati ikaw naguluhan na ano hehehe).

 

I finally have a finisher’s medal. *bow*

 

I still need process my run … maybe later, it was tough and crazy fun at the same time. For now, its happyhappyjoyjoy time!

 

Thanks Mesh, Cha and Xander for inviting me!

 

Special thanks to Cha for taking pictures … may picture na ako.

 

Thanks to Mizuno and Punta Fuego for hosting such a great race!

 

Sa uulitin …

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

With Eric and Ben (Congrats!)  

Mesh, Xander, Cha and Bards … happyhappyjoyjoy

 

My worst 10K and I was still smiling … whatta!?! Because this was the best race I’ve ever attended. Granted the reg fee was expensive and you need to be a member or sponsored by a member but still … you get free brunch, a finisher’s medal, a tshirt, card holder and loot bag. Plus great raffle prizes… that we didn’t win. And after the race can go swimming. How cool is that!

 

Plusplus, the Fuego staff were really great. The best yung staff at the water stations. Picture this, you are tired running and dying to get to the water station … tapos you see someone running towards you already with a cup of water! They were also cheering for the runners. Hahaha! Can you beat that! And then at my last lap, I had a security guard pa on a motorbike accompanying me *aliw* Thank you Fuego!

 

Another plusplus, there were 2 photographers taking pictures of us. I swear, they make you want to hit the correct form. (You guys know where we can we get copies of their pics, please!)

 

Just a couple of things they could improve on would be the Km markers, they were a bit confusing and the route map said we needed to make 2 loops (what they failed to tell us was 2 loops for the 1st loop and 1 loop lang nung second, pati ikaw naguluhan na ano hehehe).

 

I finally have a finisher’s medal. *bow*

 

I still need process my run … maybelater, it was tough and crazy fun at the same time. For now, its happyhappyjoyjoy time!

 

Thanks Mesh, Cha and Xander for inviting me!

 

Special thanks to Cha for taking pictures … may picture na ako.

 

Thanks to Mizuno and Punta Fuego for hosting such a great race!

 

Sa uulitin …

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “Fuego-Mizuno Fun Run: Blazing New Trails

  1. Hello,

    Let me do the honors of writing the first comment on your blog about the fuego-mizuno run. Before that, I was so glad to just chance upon your website while i was surfing about the run that we just did. To my surprise, my photo and name was there!! (chanced upon it thru google)

    The course was really tough, that too was my worst time for a 10k run but you are right, it was a fulfilling run nevertheless.

    The GF 405 is really awesome but i still have to learn all the details since I am fairly new to this product myself. It’s actually my best running partner since i purchased it.

    It was great meeting you and mesh and I hope too see the both of you in future runs. (i will be at the mizuno-infinty run) Cheers!!!

  2. so sorry about this messy post. having problems with wordpress. i tried to fix it talaga but it got even worse. so there!

    Albert – naiingit pa rin kami sa Garmin mo hehehe

    Dong – are you still doing the half this Sunday?

    thanks Albert, Joe and Dong, hope to see you guys on June 29.

  3. Yup, got bib#42 yesterday. I hope there are more joining, I don’t want to end up dead last 🙂

    Planning to register for Mizuno 10k tomorrow naman.

  4. yahoo! good luck on sunday! kayang-kaya mo na yan.

    yung headband ni mesh is just the black version of your white one. last piece na lang sya sa Sta. Rosa Nike Outlet .

  5. DATC… akala ko ba sasali si Hotdogswaying sa Mizuno?! Nasindak mo na ata! 🙂
    Wala na ngang black headband sa outlet but there was an orange one…. ayaw mo nun? Mapapasaya mo uli si Erskine!
    See you on the 29th!

  6. Orange??? I like! 🙂

    Paging Hotdog! May time ka pa mag register for Mizuno, may tubig na daw this time, pramis!

  7. oh! tsk tsk tsk Hotdogswaying … looks like you’re being challenged har har har. but since you will be joining 5k and si DATC 15K, technically you can say that you can finish before him. 😛

  8. 10k lang sasalihan ko, I will attempt to break 1hr — I’ve never been able to do that, unlike Bananrunning! 🙂

  9. since hindi naman ako demanding na friend. i am predicting na you can do it in 55-58mins. tapos if lower, pa-cheeseburger ka ha! hehehe

  10. To paraphrase the marathon training guide while having sex entry of bald runner, a 59:59 time makes me a 59minute 10k runner. Masaya na ako dun!

  11. Hi this is marj of club punta fuego – thanks so much for the nice review! Also, our apologies for the markers, we were expecting some directional signages from a sponsor – they didn’t make it to the Club so we ended up printing the small arrows. It was our first run and we promise to do much better next time =)

    >>looking forward to your coming races! the fuego route is just perfect for crazy runners like me. Thanks for the cd with pics.

Leave a Reply

